Slaughterhouse-five

Our first reading assignment for the ENG1102 class is Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Slaughterhouse-five. I kinda had an idea of the novel was about by looking at the design of the cover. The page’s main color is red, and there is a skull in the middle, so my guess would be that the red color stands for blood. In addition, the novel’s name contains the word “slaughter”, therefore I predict there will be a lot of deaths presented in this novel. The back cover has a quote from the New York Times: “Very tough and very funny… sad and delightful… very funny”; it also features Kurt Vonnegut’s signature that shapes like his face, a funny face. So I guess this novel will have many humorous elements.

The first chapter of the book is where Kurt Vonnegut, in his own voice, introduces the novel. It is about the Dresden bombing by the allies during World War Two. Kurt Vonnegut claims that “all this happened, more or less”, especially the war parts. He also lets us know that the Guggenheim Foundation has paid him to write this book. Later on, he shows that he is a very honest and dignified man when he replies his friend’s wife about his book (she think that he will glorify war) in the following paragraph:

“So I held up my right hand and I made her a promise: “Mary,” I said, “I don’t think this book of mine is ever going to be finished. I must have written five thousands pages by now, and thrown them all away. If I ever do finish it, though, I give you my word of honor: there won’t be a part for Frank Sinatra or John Wayne.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slaughterhouse-five

  1. Aimey says:

    I like the fact you actually involved the cover of the book in your analysis. Reading through the other blogs, (although I haven’t read all of them), I feel like the rest of us were too caught up in the “scholarly” interpretations of the novel that we forgot the basics of what “first impressions” included. I completely forgot to express what guesses the book cover made me make concerning what Slaughterhouse-five was about.

  2. Aimey says:

    I like the fact you actually involved the cover of the book in your analysis. Reading through the other blogs, (although I haven’t read all of them), I feel like the rest of us were too caught up in the “scholarly” interpretations of the novel that we forgot the basics of what “first impressions” included. I completely forgot to express what guesses the book cover made me make concerning what Slaughterhouse-five was about.

  3. Aimey says:

    Woops! I messed up in the first comment!

Leave a Reply

